Nestled in the Village of Glen Ellyn, an affluent Chicago suburb, is a place of inordinate beauty, a community rich in history and rooted in quality…a place where members have enjoyed a lifestyle of camaraderie, relaxation and the sport of golf for more than 100 years…where families feel at home and friendships are forged. Welcome to Glen Oak Country Club.
More than a new look, our recent renovations ensure the Glen Oak experience has never been greater. Our brand new, state-of-the-art Aquatic Center is the ultimate warm-weather destination for families to gather, soak up the sun, splash around or cool down.
A newly completed Veranda brings unrivaled outdoor dining space to the Club, complete with breathtaking views of plush fairways. Resort-like fire pit seating creates the perfect ambiance for intimate conversations over cocktails with friends.
See All Our Renovations
A salute to the courses of yesteryear, Glen Oak’s traditional golf course is beautifully lined with mature trees, and vivid green fairways. Renowned for its impeccable condition and the speed of the greens, the scenic golf experience at Glen Oak is challenging, exciting and truly memorable.
Get in the Game
Glen Oak strives to be a club that today’s active families can enjoy. The inclusive atmosphere and well-attended, year round social events make Glen Oak a great place to establish traditions and create lifelong memories of friendship and fun.
Explore Club Activities
The grounds of Glen Oak were originally the site of a family farm until purchased by the Pickwick Country Club who commissioned noted golf course architect Tom Bendelow to establish a nine-hole golf course there in the early 1900’s.
Glen Oak Country Club came into being in 1911 with ownership of the old Pickwick Country Club. The name “Glen Oak” was selected as being representative of both Glen Ellyn and Oak Park, the hometown of many original members.
The barn shown to the left of the old house (the Clubhouse) was the original Men's Locker Room with unheated showers. Club dues in 1911 were $40.00/year.
The “Pinky” statue has a prominent location at the Club’s main entrance. Constructed in 1929, the statue is named after one of the most popular and capable caddies (nicknamed “Pinky” because of his ruddy complexion). Pinky evokes the spirit and history of the Club as well as the Club’s commitment to a thriving caddie program and walking golf.
In the early 1920’s, a Gun Club was organized and operated as a separate enterprise. Taken over by Glen Oak in February, 1929, the Gun Club would become one of the most modern Gun Club accommodations in the area.
Built in 1939, the original swimming pool took only 70 days to construct—from the time ground was broken to the day it was opened at a cost of $27,500. Today, Glen Oak remains a member of the oldest Country Club swim league in the nation.
“Lighthorse” Harry Cooper, a Brit, was the Club’s most renowned golf professional in the 1930’s. With an impressive 31 PGA wins, Mr. Cooper is often considered the “greatest golfer never to have won a major.”
In 1940 there were only five courses in Illinois with pars of 72 or less which were rated more difficult than Glen Oak. George Dawson established the course record of 65 in 1940, which held up until it was smashed by our present day Golf Professional Danny Mulhearn who currently holds the record of 63
For decades west suburban members would make their way to the Club by train, on the Chicago, Aurora, and Elgin’s main railroad line. There was even a “Glen Oak” stop on the line, its small depot just a short walk from the Club’s first tee. The railroad is long gone, but the stone remnants of Glen Oak’s depot entrance remain and can be seen near the ninth hole tee box.
In 1950 Glen Oak held its Inaugural Splinter’s Tournament. The winner of the event had his name inscribed on a plaque attached to a gnarled log about 5 ft. long, with the top leveled off to form a bench. Today this tradition continues with the latest winner given the prestigious location on the #1 tee.
The cover of the 1962 issue of Golfing magazine featured Al Huske, the Head Golf Professional at Glen Oak from 1943-1972, giving lessons to a group of the Ladies' Day regulars. Al Huske qualified for the PGA Tournament three times and the U.S. Open five times.
The Ladies’ Auxiliary at Glen Oak, dating back to 1926, has a proud tradition of fostering friendships as well as promoting golf among its members. President’s Day, celebrates past presidencies of the Auxiliary, where women who have previously served as Auxiliary President gather for a day of golf—six holes each of Scramble, Best Ball and Alternate Shot—and an evening of dining among friends.
In 2004, the Club built the “Lodge,” a comfortable, casual building and home to Glen Oak’s avid skeet & trap shooting team. Trap shooting was started in 1912 as a separate enterprise. Glen Oak took over the assets of the Gun Club in 1929. In 1949, Glen Oak was presented with a Life Membership in the U.S. Skeet Shooting Association.
In 2011, Glen Oak Country Club celebrated an important milestone—100 years! Since 1911 the Club has not only endured, it has thrived.
In 2016, the Club saw significant renovations with the construction of a brand new aquatic center. Infrastructure upgrades also brought in Lake Michigan water to the Club. A renovated veranda added unrivaled, outdoor dining space with stunning views of the course, and intimate seating around fire pits brought a resort-like feel to Glen Oak.